Project Authorities

The Treaty sets out the structures that are required to implement the Project on behalf of the two governments.

The Joint Permanent Technical Commission (JPTC) has a monitoring, advisory and approval function with regard to the project implementation in Lesotho. Protocol VI resulted in a revision of the governance on the Project, as well as a re-naming of the JPTC, to reflect its true nature: the Lesotho Highlands Water Commission (LHWC). The LHWC has the responsibility for a bi-national body consisting of three delegates per country, that advices LHDA on design, technical acceptability, tender procedures and documents, cash flow forecasts, allocation of costs and financing arrangements.

The Lesotho Highlands Development Authority (LHDA) was set up to manage that part of the Project that falls within Lesotho’s borders-the construction, operations and maintenance of all dams, tunnels power stations and infrastructure- as well as secondary developments such as relocation, resettlement, compensation, supply of water to resettled villages, irrigation, fish hatcheries and tourism.

The Trans-Caledon Tunnel Authority (TCTA) takes care of the delivery tunnel transporting the water over(or rather, under) the border (the Caledon River) to the Ash River, as well as all structures required to integrate and control the flow of Lesotho water in the river.

The LHDA reports to the Commission on all matters concerning the Project, but the TCTA, with its structures now complete, is only responsible to the LHWC with regard to operations and maintenance issues.